

CONTACT Scott Johnson Executive Secretary Iowa FFA Association scott.johnson@iowaffa.com 515-965-7376 www.iowaffa.com

News Release

2016 IOWA FFA DISCUSSION MEET CAREER DEVELOPMENT EVENT

88th Iowa FFA State Leadership Conference

AMES, IA - The Iowa FFA Discussion Meet Leadership Event was held at Iowa State University, Ames, on Monday, April 18, 2016. Thirteen individuals participated in this year's Career Development Event (CDE). The first place individual for the event was Sarah Clark from the Albia FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Daryl Schofield. The second place individual for the event was Austin Rohrs from the South O'Brien FFA Chapter. Their agriculture education instructor and FFA advisor is Mr. Eric Kumm.

Participants of the Ag Discussion Meet were responsible to exchange ideas and information in an effort to solve problems inherent in the topics. Students had to take a problem or need and work through all options, while testing and implementing new ideas. The Iowa FFA Ag Discussion Meet CDE was made possible with support from the Iowa Farm Bureau Federation through the Iowa FFA Foundation.

The results from the Ag Discussion Meet CDE are listed below.

###

About Iowa FFA Association

The Iowa FFA Association is a youth organization of over 14,800 student members as part of 226 local FFA chapters across Iowa. The FFA mission is to make a positive difference in the lives of students by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth and career success through agricultural education. The Iowa FFA Association was organized by delegates from 23 schools at Iowa State College on May 17, 1929 and is an integral part of public instruction in agriculture. The Iowa Department of Education provides leadership and helps set direction for FFA as a service to local agricultural education programs. For more, visit the Iowa FFA Association online at IowaFFA.com, on Facebook, and Twitter.

Place FFA Member Name(s)		Chapter P. O.	Rating
1	Sarah Clark	Albia	Gold
2	Austin Rohrs	Paullina	Gold
3	Justin Rottinghaus	LaPorte City	Gold
	Alana Platte	Fairbank	Gold
	Tate Carlson	Lake View	Gold
	Hannah Pagel	Sumner	Gold

Iowa FFA Association -- 2

Jay Wessels	Delhi	Silver
Trent Westhoff	Delhi	Silver
Susan Schwickerath	New Hampton	Silver
Tessa Meyer	Sumner	Silver
Nolan Webster	New Hampton	Bronze
Alicia Mogler	West Bend	Bronze
Philip Kleve	West Union	Bronze